Arts & Culture

We speak with David Poyer about his new book The Whiteness of the Whale. He is the author of more than 30 novels, including the Dan Lenson series and the Lyle “Tiller” Galloway series, both of which are American sea fiction in the tradition of Herman Wouk and Joseph Conrad.

We also speak with Fiona Maazel about her new book Woke Up Lonely. She is the author of Last Last Chance, and has won the Bard Prize for Fiction. She was also a National Book Foundation “5 under 35” honoree.

see play list below

Music host: Jean Silverberg
News host: Terry Carter
Producer: Ron Thums

Xonxaro Baro’s Gypsy Love Show

Xonxaro Baro means “the great trick.” This live performance of the Gypsy Love Show at Amsterdam Bar and Hall features music by the Bourgeoisie Bohemians—Balkan and Gypsy performers with a touch of French circus—with storytelling by Tansy Undercrypt. Also included are three recordings by Gypsy Mania from their self-titled release, including “Butterfly,” “East Hennepin” and “Blues de Paris.” Gypsy Mania is Glen Helgeson (guitar), Gary Schulte (violin), Reynold Philipsek (guitar/vocals), Jeff Brueske (acoustic bass), Michael Bissonnette (percussion) and James Allen (guitar). Produced for KFAI by Daniel Zamzow and Nancy Sartor.

 

Self Health Revolution

 

The hidden ingredient in our food that is causing us to get fat 3 simple things you can do to get fit and stay thin forever A forgotten remedy that will get rid of aches and pains forever One thing you can do now to extend your life by 15 years The #3 killer that nobody wants to talk about The little known reason most people feel tired and run down A cure that your doctor may not know about or can’t tell you What was recently found in our drinking water that no one yet knows about One thing that will instantly add vigor and passion to your sex life How unhappiness and stress may take 7 years off your lifespan.

Music Host: The Nighthawk
News Host: Edwin Allen
Producer: Siobhan Kierans

The Scoop Sisters – 4th Estate Sale – The Icebox Radio Theater in International Falls, MN brings us stories of the North country. It’s about a mother/daughter pair who buy the local newspaper and get to do small town investigative journalism.

Causes and consequences of Human Trafficking; global and local challenges; prosecution and rehabilitation programs;opportunities for intervention and prevention.

Pages